Monday, 5 September 2011

A very special publication this month...

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion by Charlaine Harris
Amazon Synopsis

THE SOOKIE STACKHOUSE COMPANION is a unique guide to Sookie Stackhouse and her dark fantasy southern-Gothic world, as well as an in-depth look at the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD. The book will feature a brand-new Sookie story and Charlaine's own map of Bon Temps, never before published, with every place of interest in the town, including Merlotte's bar and Sookie's home. Other treats include: * An introduction by Charlaine about the impact Sookie Stackhouse has had on her writing career, and the influence on the genre at large * A large section on the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD * Detailed summaries of each novel and entries on every important character, event and setting in the series, in Sookie's voice. * An overview of Sookie's world, including information on the vampires, shapeshifter/wereanimal, and fairie factions * Interviews with Charlaine Harris and Alan Ball * A selection of favourite Bon Temps recipes

Anyone who does already know me, will know that Charlaine Harris is my favourite author, and that I have a slight obsession with all things Sookie. So you can imagine that this has me over the moon! I'm especially looking forward to the novella included in the book! I have this pre-ordered and it should arrive just before I head back to uni, but I'm really hoping that I'll be able to read and review it before I go back. I am a very excited lady!

For those who are interested, Charlaine Harris has written four different series over her writing career; The Aurora Teagarden mysteries, the Lily Bard mysteries, the Harper Connelly series and the Sookie Stackhouse (aka True Blood) series. The order of these series is as such:

Aurora Teagarden
Real Murders
A Bone to Pick
Three Bedrooms, One Corpse
The Julius House
Dead Over Heels
A Fool and His Honey
Last Scene Alive
Poppy Done to Death

Lily Bard
Shakespeare's Landlord
Shakespeare's Champion
Shakespeare's Christmas
Shakespeare's Trollop
Shakespeare's Counsellor

Harper Connelly
Grave Sight
Grave Surprise
An Ice Cold Grave
Grave Secret

Sookie Stackhouse
Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas
Club Dead
Dead to the World
Dead as a Doornail
Definitely Dead
All Together Dead
From Dead to Worse
Dead and Gone
Dead in the Family
Dead Reckoning
Deadlocked (May 2012 publication)

If you haven't already tried Charlaine's books, then they are a definite must. I would recommend starting with Sookie Stackhouse, and moving on from there. Aurora Teagarden and Lily Bard are strictly in the crime genre, but they still contain Charlaine's unique and quirky style. Harper Connelly still has a large stake in the crime genre, but also branches over into the Paranormal, and Sookie Stackhouse is a paranormal series with serious kick. I would recommend that anyone tries reading her at least once!

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion is released on September 15th 2011.


Hades2 said...

I really want this!!! I still have the last book to read, saving it for a rainy day xx

Voguedotcom said...

As am I! I don't want to have to wait too long to have Deadlocked, so I've been saving it! I'll probably read it during the Christmas period :) xx

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog - it is always appreciated!

Blog design installed by Sweet Dreams Design